… When you skip down the street….

Ever had that feeling where you catch yourself skipping down the street, humming your favourite song under your breath and convinced that you can hear the birds chirping along in perfect harmony with your every step?… It’s such a beautiful feeling and I have that feeling today. It’s just one of those days where I stop and contemplate in awe the absolute greatness of God, and how He masterfully and providentially orchestrates every single detail of our lives. It’s those times when we take time to step out of the busyness of the world to reflect on our lives that we truly appreciate all He has done for us.

Sure, I have situations that I would like to be worked out a little differently (but don’t we all have problems of various degrees?) – but it’s that wonderful contentment in life where you just know that God is in control and you have the peace that the bible talks about, that surpasses all understanding (Philippians 4:7). So, I’ve made a commitment to myself that no matter how imperfect things are in my life, I will always strive hard to retain a profound attitude of gratitude and thankfulness to God for everything, and in all seasons. Granted, some days that is much harder to do than others (for instance when you have to deal with a narcissistic boss that seems to embody Satan himself), but even in those moments (after I have given the blank non-expressive stare whilst trying to suppress the fleshly thoughts of quick-witted cutting answers) it’s just so wonderful to know that I do not have to rise to the troubles of such situations, for there is no situation (no matter how challenging) that enters our life without God allowing it. That means, whatever we face in life God has already worked a way out (1 Corinthians 10:13). In fact it’s very presence means that God has allowed it to come to teach us something.

So I am beginning to understand what Paul meant when he said ‘…I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances’ (Philippians 4:11). Not so long ago (obviously in the midst of one of those fiery trials of faith) I had a very different story – “No I am not content! Where is God in all this? Where is He in the midst of so much sorrow?” . The things we say when our focus is not on Him!! Every time I think of that particular moment in my life I have flashes of Job in the midst of his trial talking utter foolishness (his words not mine – Job 40:3-4) – and it reminds me of the amazing patience and grace of God to bear with us as we have our temper-tantrums when life does not go our way. God’s simple response to Job’s rant (much like mine): “Who is this that obscures my plans with words without knowledge?” (Job 38:2). It’s the perfect illustration of what happens to all of us when all we can see is our trial, instead of the bigness and greatness of Our God who is the Alpha and Omega and has perfectly worked out all things in between.

So I say all that to say this: I have had challenging days, and I have had bird-chirping-skipping-down-the-street happy days, and right now I can say with a thankful heart that I am content with my life. It’s definitely not where I want it to be, but I know I am where I need to be in this moment (which is really all we have). I try hard to do the best I have with each moment I am given as I continue to seek, listen and obey the Spirit of God for further instructions in His will. Of course we’re human and sometimes I miss the mark and incidentally allow myself get drawn into the bait of Satan, but when I get hold of my senses I run back to the presence of God with a repentant heart to obtain mercy (Hebrews 4:16).

Right now, I am thankful for God’s amazing goodness and am living with that measure of faith to believe every Word that He has spoken, waiting with peace and confidence for the manifestations of all His wonderful promises. It is my prayer that whatever situations we all find ourselves in, we can reach that place of contentment and thankfulness toward God of His goodness and grace, confidently knowing that He is a good God and is faithful to His Word.

Stay blessed.

Leave a comment